Ban gas chambers in South Australia

« Return to actions list

On July 12th, we released footage from BMK Foods pig slaughterhouse in Murray Bridge, South Australia. We captured footage of hundreds of pigs being forced into a gas chamber with a painful electric prodder, before being lowered to an agonising death. 

We watched as some pigs were left at the top of the chamber for over 20 minutes, gasping and shaking as they slowly suffocated to death. Others screamed and thrashed at the bottom of the chamber, throwing themselves against the bars in a futile effort to escape as the gas burnt their lungs. 

This horrific practice must end! We are calling on the South Australian Deputy Premier and Minister for Climate, Environment and Water, Dr. Susan Close MP, to initiate a state inquiry into pig gassing and support a ban on gas chambers.

Thanks to our footage and public pressure, we have already succeeded in achieving a Victorian inquiry into pig slaughter and confinement, it’s time that other states followed suit. 

Take action and write to the minister today.

Take action now: send an email

Thank you for taking action!

Please consider making a donation to help us continue our campaigns to help animals.

Step 1: Your details

Step 2: Compose your email

The below email is just a suggestion - feel free to change it as you see fit.

Hon. Dr. Susan Close MP, South Australian Minister for Climate, Environment and Water

Send Email
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the
Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
157
emails sent
Georgia P , 3 days ago
Virginia C on Sun 7 Jul 2024 at 1:19am
Rachel B on Sun 30 Jun 2024 at 9:51pm
Natalie I on Sun 30 Jun 2024 at 8:20pm
Bernadine B on Thu 20 Jun 2024 at 1:45am
Nyah D on Sat 8 Jun 2024 at 4:03pm
Kerry B on Mon 27 May 2024 at 1:13am
Ramesh Chander V on Sat 25 May 2024 at 11:19pm
Michela G on Fri 24 May 2024 at 3:17am
Matilda V on Mon 29 Apr 2024 at 5:36pm
Renate A on Tue 23 Apr 2024 at 12:28am
Lisa D on Mon 22 Apr 2024 at 9:33pm
Alexandra W on Sat 13 Apr 2024 at 7:48pm
Emily C on Wed 3 Apr 2024 at 8:39pm
Caitlin J on Mon 1 Apr 2024 at 6:09am
Juliette T on Sun 31 Mar 2024 at 11:12pm
Merlene S on Sun 24 Mar 2024 at 10:01pm
Kylie S on Sun 24 Mar 2024 at 9:51pm
Aj C on Fri 22 Mar 2024 at 5:41pm
Ravi R on Thu 21 Mar 2024 at 10:27pm
Amy S on Thu 21 Mar 2024 at 12:53am
Fiona L on Sun 17 Mar 2024 at 7:16pm
Harriet T on Sat 16 Mar 2024 at 3:29pm
Agnieszka K on Sat 16 Mar 2024 at 12:46am
Diana H on Fri 15 Mar 2024 at 3:35pm
Claudia S on Fri 15 Mar 2024 at 4:04am
Megan G on Tue 12 Mar 2024 at 11:24pm
Sera D on Tue 12 Mar 2024 at 10:06am
Brittany J on Tue 12 Mar 2024 at 9:34am
Vanessa M on Mon 11 Mar 2024 at 7:53pm
Katie Q on Sun 10 Mar 2024 at 1:14am
Hilde B on Thu 7 Mar 2024 at 9:07pm
Poppy G on Sun 3 Mar 2024 at 1:20am
Helen H on Fri 1 Mar 2024 at 5:03pm
Janice S on Wed 28 Feb 2024 at 1:07pm
Ulrich S on Wed 28 Feb 2024 at 1:48am
Joshua R on Tue 27 Feb 2024 at 9:12pm
Tanya K on Sun 25 Feb 2024 at 8:47pm
Rom F on Wed 21 Feb 2024 at 11:58pm
Kate P on Tue 20 Feb 2024 at 8:48am
Desi C on Mon 19 Feb 2024 at 4:17pm
Iaida C on Mon 19 Feb 2024 at 6:11am
Cara F on Tue 13 Feb 2024 at 8:59am
Jessica L on Sun 11 Feb 2024 at 10:08pm
Amber A on Sat 10 Feb 2024 at 9:41pm
Amelia E on Wed 7 Feb 2024 at 1:27am
Polina G on Tue 6 Feb 2024 at 11:08pm
Pavitra V on Fri 2 Feb 2024 at 3:22pm
Michelle H on Thu 1 Feb 2024 at 6:21pm
Siobhan K on Sun 28 Jan 2024 at 3:55am