News & Media > Editorials

How to Make the Perfect Vegan Apple Pie

Wed 28 April 2021, 11:49am
Wed 28 Apr '21
by Jess Mateljan
This relatively easy, delicious vegan apple pie recipe will keep you feeling warm & cosy during the colder months coming up. Give it a try!

Dominion Anniversary Event Resources

Wed 7 April 2021, 4:07pm
Wed 7 Apr '21
by Farm Transparency Project
On April 1st 2021 we hosted an online event with 4 guest speakers who discussed issues surrounding animal rights and social justice. Here is a list of ...

Vegan Chocolate Brands For Easter

Mon 29 March 2021, 10:10am
Mon 29 Mar '21
by Jess Mateljan
Check out these wonderful vegan, fairtrade and ethical chocolate brands.

Lions and Monkeys Retired From Circus Performances

Fri 26 March 2021, 2:33pm
Fri 26 Mar '21
by Farm Transparency Project
Stardust Circus have finally made the decision to quietly retire their captive lions and monkeys from performing.

5 Myths About Animal Use in Fashion

Fri 19 March 2021, 5:34pm
Fri 19 Mar '21
by Emma Håkansson
The exploitation and slaughter of animals in the fashion industry is often over-looked. Let's bust some myths about the fashion industry and what it does ...

A Life Sentence - Marine Animals in Captivity

Wed 10 March 2021, 1:51pm
Wed 10 Mar '21
by Alix Livingstone
Marine animals in captivity lead lives of deprivation for years on end. It doesn't have to be this way - we have the power to ...

Plant Based Burger Company Gets Funding From Shark Tank's Mark Cuban

Wed 10 March 2021, 1:51pm
Wed 10 Mar '21
by Jess Mateljan
On February 26th 2021, vegan burger company Everything Legendary managed to secure a massive $300,000 investment from Shark Tank's Mark Cubin, in return for 22% of their business.

6 Influential Black Vegans

Sat 27 February 2021, 2:10pm
Sat 27 Feb '21
by Jess Mateljan
Here are 6 incredibly inspiring Black vegans changing the lives of animals that you just have to follow!

10 Ways You Can Help Animals This New Year

Sat 30 January 2021, 1:23pm
Sat 30 Jan '21
by Emma Håkansson
It's a new year, and there are plenty of ways you can make it one that is kinder to animals.

7 Reasons to Keep Turkeys Off Your Plate This Christmas

Mon 14 December 2020, 1:00pm
Mon 14 Dec '20
by Farm Transparency Project
Turkeys are affectionate, playful and intelligent creatures, here are just some of the many reasons they deserve your consideration this Christmas.

6 Mouthwatering Alternatives to Christmas Turkeys

Mon 14 December 2020, 1:00pm
Mon 14 Dec '20
by Farm Transparency Project
Turkeys value their lives just like humans and the companion animals we share our homes and lives with. There is an abundance of delicious plant-based ...

The Life of a Christmas Turkey

Mon 14 December 2020, 12:59pm
Mon 14 Dec '20
by Farm Transparency Project
The life of a turkey destine for slaughter is a grim Christmas story indeed. From breeding, to hatching, growing and slaughter, turkeys bred for their ...

The Resistance of Animals

Thu 19 November 2020, 2:34pm
Thu 19 Nov '20
by Kristy Alger
Animals are capable of being the agents of their own resistance against human exploitation; but what happens after is up to us.

Why Animals Need an Independent Office of Animal Protection

Sun 15 November 2020, 5:43am
Sun 15 Nov '20
by Farm Transparency Project
Animals are being let down by the current institutions that are supposed to be in place to protect them. In order to begin moving towards ...

What does RSPCA Approved Farming look like?

Sun 15 November 2020, 5:43am
Sun 15 Nov '20
by Farm Transparency Project

What is RSPCA 'Humane Slaughter'?

Sun 15 November 2020, 5:43am
Sun 15 Nov '20
by Farm Transparency Project

The five freedoms and the moral bankruptcy of the RSPCA

Sun 15 November 2020, 5:43am
Sun 15 Nov '20
by Farm Transparency Project
How does the RSPCA's approved farming scheme stack up against the five freedoms, a framework even the RSPCA believes to be redundant in meeting the ...

Is Veganism Only About Animals?

Thu 12 November 2020, 2:57pm
Thu 12 Nov '20
by Emma Håkansson
By definition, veganism can and should benefit animals, but also humans and the planet. What does this mean for our activism? What does this mean ...

Racing NSW, Gerry Harvey and thoroughbred slaughter

Thu 29 October 2020, 8:13pm
Thu 29 Oct '20
by Farm Transparency Project
An investigation into two additional NSW knackeries revealed the ongoing slaughter of ex-racehorses despite the industry's assurances, with numerous breeders including billionaire Gerry Harvey implicated.

Facts Based Advocacy: we need to get it right

Tue 13 October 2020, 9:41pm
Tue 13 Oct '20
by Kristy Alger
Social media has created an environment supportive of the sharing of disinformation. For the sake of other animals it is imperative that we get it ...

Recognising the Animal Industrial Complex

Wed 23 September 2020, 9:15pm
Wed 23 Sep '20
by Kristy Alger
The animal industrial complex exerts significant influence over all of our lives. We need to understand how it operates, and search out ways to dismantle ...

Where Is Yandina?

Mon 13 July 2020, 5:00pm
Mon 13 Jul '20
by Kristy Alger
An industry funded by public monies is obligated to guarantee the lives of horses leaving the industry.

8 Reasons to Boycott the Races

Mon 29 June 2020, 3:58pm
Mon 29 Jun '20
by Alix Livingstone
Beneath the glamour and gambling of the horse racing industry exists a dark underbelly of pain and suffering for the very creatures most patrons believe ...

The Environmental Crimes of One of Australia's Wealthiest Pastoralists

Thu 11 June 2020, 3:03pm
Thu 11 Jun '20
by Alix Livingstone
One of Australia's richest pastoralists has been charged seven times for clearing protected South Australian vegetation.

Thomas Brinkworth and the RSPCA

Thu 11 June 2020, 3:03pm
Thu 11 Jun '20
by Alix Livingstone
It is believed to be one of the worst cases of animal neglect in Australia’s history, with a spokesperson stating, “for some of the ...

About Wool and the Alternatives

Thu 11 June 2020, 3:03pm
Thu 11 Jun '20
by Emma Håkansson
A common misconception sees many of us believe that the wool industry is one that is harmless to sheep, completely different to the fur and ...

Focus vs. Scope: deconstructing “animals only” ideology within the animal rights movement

Sun 7 June 2020, 10:27pm
Sun 7 Jun '20
by Kristy Alger
The global Black Lives Matter uprisings have thrown ideological divisions within the animal rights movement into stark relief.

Slaughterhouses aren't safe, for anyone.

Tue 19 May 2020, 5:50pm
Tue 19 May '20
by Kristy Alger
Whilst non-human animals should remain at the forefront of the conversation, the ongoing Cedar Meats case highlights the inherently unsafe nature of slaughterhouses as workplaces.

Mother's Day: celebration or exploitation?

Thu 7 May 2020, 9:42pm
Thu 7 May '20
by Kristy Alger
The way we celebrate motherhood is causing harm to humans, non-human animals and the environment.

RSPCA Tasmania, Jan Davis, and the direction of the society

Fri 1 May 2020, 8:59pm
Fri 1 May '20
by Kristy Alger
With a new CEO who views non-human animals as commodities, it has become apparent that RSPCA Tasmania has strayed far from its roots even as ...

What Is Intersectional Activism and Why Does it Matter?

Fri 1 May 2020, 8:32pm
Fri 1 May '20
by Emma Håkansson
If all oppression is linked, it means that the fight for animal liberation is utterly intertwined with the dismantling of oppressive constructs and ideology as ...

COVID-19: what it is, what it was, and what it could be

Wed 15 April 2020, 6:28pm
Wed 15 Apr '20
by Mehr Gupta
“Be sensible. Be calm. Be kind. Be safe.” Amidst the tide of policy and workplace changes I am currently experiencing, this is the message currently ...

Dominion Anniversary Action Hobart 2019: a reflection

Wed 8 April 2020, 8:30pm
Wed 8 Apr '20
by Kristy Alger
Why were we there? And what has happened in the year since?

Tasmania, Pandemic and the Exploitation of Non-human Animals

Wed 8 April 2020, 8:20pm
Wed 8 Apr '20
by Kristy Alger
As further social restriction measures are implemented across Tasmania in response to the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic, industries and individuals that rely on the exploitation and slaughter ...

Racism During COVID-19 and to Justify Speciesism

Wed 8 April 2020, 7:48pm
Wed 8 Apr '20
by Emma Håkansson
As (mostly white) western people have become aware of the likely origins of COVID-19, racism has been spewed over Asian communities worldwide. But claiming that ...

Small Acts of Kindness While Socially Distancing

Tue 31 March 2020, 3:49pm
Tue 31 Mar '20
by Alix Livingstone
Right now the world is dealing with an unprecedented pandemic effecting millions across the globe. In a time of such uncertainty and fear, it is ...

Defending Takayna: the Animal Rights Perspective

Mon 30 March 2020, 1:55pm
Mon 30 Mar '20
by Kristy Alger
The first time I ever walked into an operational slaughterhouse it was like a punch to the soul. The sight of so many beings lined ...

The Importance of Consistent Ethics in Fashion

Sun 29 March 2020, 1:47pm
Sun 29 Mar '20
by Emma Håkansson
Every day, consumers are becoming more aware of the cost of what they wear. Not the price tag, but the impact a garment has – on ...

The revival of McCarthyism and the scapegoating of activists to undermine broader civil liberties

Sat 28 March 2020, 1:54pm
Sat 28 Mar '20
by Kristy Alger
McCarthyism: a mid-20th century political attitude characterised chiefly by opposition to elements held to be subversive and by use of tactics involving personal attacks ...