Tell the Federal Minister for Agriculture to ban gas chambers in pig slaughterhouses

« Return to actions list

Industries that cage, mutilate and slaughter animals can never be humane. They can never be kind or compassionate. It’s time that we call them out on the lies they tell us and make all animal cruelty illegal. 

What we want

  • A Victorian inquiry into the use of gas chambers, or ‘controlled atmosphere stunning,’ in slaughterhouses - ACHIEVED
  • A federal inquiry into pig slaughter methods in Australia
  • Parliamentary Inquiries into pig gassing in all states where gas chambers are used
  • The immediate closure of the slaughterhouses exposed in our footage while an inquiry takes place
    • Australian Food Group - SHUT DOWN
    • Diamond Valley Pork - under investigation
    • Benalla - under investigation
    • BMK Foods - under investigation
  • A total ban on the use of gas chambers and other industry practices that would be considered animal abuse if farmed animals weren’t exempt from animal welfare legislation

We also want to see:

  • An end to the breeding and killing of pigs for food
  • Government support for farmers and slaughterhouse workers to transition out of the pig slaughter industry and into kinder, sustainable industries

 

What you can do

  • Write to the Federal Minister - Contact the Federal Minister for Agriculture, Murray Watt, asking him to support a federal Parliamentary Inquiry into gas chambers, and ultimately, a ban on the cruel practice. You can use our template email form below, or email him at [email protected], or call (02) 6277 7190. Further contact details are available at www.murraywatt.com.au/contact.
  • Write to the South Australian Deputy Premier and Minister for Climate, Environment and Water, Dr. Susan Close MP, asking her to initiate a state inquiry into pig gassing and support a ban on gas chambers, in response to new pig gassing footage from South Australia. Use our template email form, or email [email protected], or call (08) 8226 8520.
  • Write to your local MP - Connect with your local MP to ask whether they will support a ban on gas chambers - we've created a template letter you can use.
    Consider also calling the MPs and even visiting their electoral offices and asking for a meeting. You can view or download the contact details for MPs here: https://new.parliament.vic.gov.au/contacting-members/
  • Get involved - Attend our events, share our content and take a stand for all animals. Follow us on Facebook to see our latest events.
  • Stop eating pigs - Every time we choose slaughter-free options, we are choosing to live in line with our values of kindness and compassion.
  • Plan your own events - We encourage people to plan their own events as part of the Ban Gas Chambers campaign. Email [email protected] for support with visuals, promotion and action design. Consider outreach events, rallies with placards and banners, and peaceful vigils.
  • Truck drivers, refuse delivery of pigs to gas chambers - We encourage truck drivers to refuse to deliver pigs to gas chambers. In Victoria, pigs will be gassed to death at C A Sinclair abattoir in Benalla and Diamond Valley Pork abattoir in Laverton. Consider refusing these jobs on moral grounds. If you are not in a safe position to do so and worry about losing work, consider raising a complaint with your union, manager or company.
    If you want support in this, please email us at [email protected] with the subject line ‘truck drivers against gas chambers.’
Take action now: send an email

Thank you for taking action!

Please consider making a donation to help us continue our campaigns to help animals.

Step 1: Your details

Step 2: Compose your email

The below email is just a suggestion - feel free to change it as you see fit.

Senator The Hon Murray Watt, Minister for Agriculture

Send Email
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the
Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
1,573
emails sent
Iaida C , 5 days ago
Cara F on Tue 13 Feb 2024 at 9:00am
Amber A on Sat 10 Feb 2024 at 9:42pm
Amelia E on Wed 7 Feb 2024 at 1:29am
Polina G on Tue 6 Feb 2024 at 11:10pm
Pavitra V on Fri 2 Feb 2024 at 3:23pm
Deborah T on Sun 28 Jan 2024 at 4:09am
Siobhan K on Sun 28 Jan 2024 at 3:42am
Lena B on Mon 22 Jan 2024 at 6:22pm
Melissa C on Mon 22 Jan 2024 at 9:20am
Leanne V on Fri 19 Jan 2024 at 9:24pm
Kate D on Sat 13 Jan 2024 at 1:22pm
Janice S on Thu 11 Jan 2024 at 12:25pm
Bethany H on Thu 11 Jan 2024 at 10:21am
Susi H on Wed 10 Jan 2024 at 2:27pm
Vivien G on Mon 8 Jan 2024 at 4:04am
Vanessa H on Sat 6 Jan 2024 at 3:05pm
Tayla J on Sun 31 Dec 2023 at 1:16pm
Jacqui A on Mon 18 Dec 2023 at 3:43pm
Susanne A on Mon 18 Dec 2023 at 5:07am
Robyn D on Mon 18 Dec 2023 at 4:38am
Tristine B on Sun 17 Dec 2023 at 11:29pm
Ivan G on Sun 17 Dec 2023 at 2:11pm
Christine I on Sun 17 Dec 2023 at 2:16am
Simone W on Fri 15 Dec 2023 at 12:50am
Alison P on Tue 12 Dec 2023 at 11:05am
Clair K on Mon 11 Dec 2023 at 3:34pm
Kathryn I on Sun 10 Dec 2023 at 3:48pm
Juli B on Sat 9 Dec 2023 at 4:16am
Ana María V on Wed 6 Dec 2023 at 12:26am
Eduardo M on Mon 4 Dec 2023 at 6:44am
Jasmin B on Sun 3 Dec 2023 at 9:35pm
Elle R on Sat 2 Dec 2023 at 9:04pm
Richard P on Mon 27 Nov 2023 at 8:04am
Valérie P on Sun 26 Nov 2023 at 9:16am
Bassam I on Fri 24 Nov 2023 at 5:08pm
Elena T on Mon 20 Nov 2023 at 11:56am
Dwayne R on Wed 8 Nov 2023 at 11:14pm
Jennifer H on Mon 6 Nov 2023 at 10:11pm
Renata W on Mon 6 Nov 2023 at 1:39pm
Lily C on Sun 5 Nov 2023 at 4:40am
Elias W on Sat 4 Nov 2023 at 11:49pm
Camilla S on Sat 4 Nov 2023 at 8:52pm
Kelly A on Sat 4 Nov 2023 at 6:12pm
Tish H on Sat 4 Nov 2023 at 4:57pm
Su-enc C on Wed 1 Nov 2023 at 5:04pm
Annie G on Sun 29 Oct 2023 at 1:34am
Frances F on Thu 26 Oct 2023 at 9:38am
Glenn L on Tue 24 Oct 2023 at 7:57am
Yvonne R on Sat 21 Oct 2023 at 10:55am